Which Model Is BMW E/F/G Series?

  • by

Historically, each BMW has carried an E project number – standing for Entwicklung, or development. The numbers have then risen progressively up to triple digits, at which point F numbers took over – and now BMW is using G monikers for its future product.

So browse the BMW codename list below and scratch up on your knowledge. And ponder what could have been; there are numeric gaps which we can only imagine were stillborn projects or new cars that never saw the light of day…

BMW G codenames explained

BMW G01 X3, 2017-
 2nd-gen X4, 2018-
BMW G11 6th-gen 7-series 2015-
BMW G12 6th-gen 7-series LWB 2015-
BMW G14 New 8-series Cabriolet 2019-
BMW G15 New 8-series Coupe 2018-
BMW G20 New 3-series saloon 2018-
BMW G21 New 3-series Touring 2019- 
BMW G22 New 4-series Coupe 2020-
BMW G23 New 4-series Convertible 2020-
BMW G30 7th-gen 5-series 2017-
BMW G31 7th-gen 5-series Touring 2017-

BMW G38 7th-gen 5-series LWB for China 2017-
BMW G80 6th-gen M3 2020-
BMW G82 New M4 Coupe 2021-
BMW G83 New M4 Convertible 2021-

BMW F codenames explained

BMW F01 (above) 5th-gen 7-series, 2008-
BMW F02 5th-gen 7-series LWB, 2008-
BMW F03 5th-gen 7-series armoured, 2008-
BMW F06 1st-gen 6-series Gran Coupe
BMW F10 6th-gen 5-series saloon, 2010-
BMW F11 6th-gen 5-series Touring, 2010-
BMW F12 3rd-gen 6-series convertible, 2011-
BMW F13 3rd-gen 6-series coupe, 2011-
BMW F15 3rd-gen X5 replacement, 2014-
BMW F16 2nd-gen X6 replacement, 2014-
BMW F20 2nd-gen 1-series five-door, 2011-
BMW F21 2nd-gen 1-series three-door, 2011
BMW F22 2nd-gen 1-series coupe (badged 2-series), 2013-
BMW F23 2nd-gen 1-series cabriolet (badged 2-series), 2014-
 2nd-gen X3, 2011-
BMW F26 1st-gen X4, 2014-
BMW F30 6th-gen 3-series saloon, 2011-
BMW F31 6th-gen 3-series Touring, 2012-
BMW F32 3-series coupe replacement (badged 4-series), 2013-
BMW F33 3-series convertible replacement (badged 4-series), 2014-
BMW F34 3-series Gran Turismo, 2013-
BMW F35 4-series four-door coupe, 2015-
BMW F36 4-series Gran Coupe
BMW F44 1-series Gran Turismo, 2014-
BMW F45 2-series Active Tourer, 2014-
BMW F46 2-series Gran Tourer, 2015-
BMW F47 X2, 2018-
BMW F48 2nd-gen X1, 2015-
BMW F52 1-series Sedan
BMW F87 M2 Coupe 
BMW F90 M5 saloon 2017- 

BMW E codenames explained

BMW E3 (above) 2500/2800 saloons, 1968-1977
BMW E9 2000-2800 coupés, 1968-1974
BMW E12 1st-gen 5-series, 1975-1981
BMW E21 1st-gen 3-series, 1976-1983
BMW E23 1st-gen 7-series, 1978-1987
BMW E24 1st-gen 6-series, 1977-1989
BMW E25 Turbo concept car, 1972
BMW E26 M1 supercar, 1978-1981
BMW E28 2nd-gen 5-series, 1982-1988
BMW E30 2nd-gen 3-series, 1984-1992
BMW E31 8-series, 1989-1999
BMW E32 2nd-gen 7-series, 1986-1994
BMW E32/2 2nd-gen 7-series LWB, 1987-1994
BMW E34 3rd-gen 5-series, 1989-1995
BMW E36 3rd-gen 3-series, 1992-1999
BMW E36/5 3-series Compact, 1994-2000
BMW E36/7 Z3, M Roadster, M Coupé, 1995-2002
BMW E38 3rd-gen 7-series, 1994-2001
BMW E38/2 3rd-gen 7-series LWB, 1994-2001
BMW E38/3 3rd-gen 7-series armoured, 1998-2001
BMW E39 4th-gen 5-series, 1996-2004
BMW E46 4th-gen 3-series, 1999-2005
BMW E46/5 2nd-gen 3-series Compact, 2001-2004
BMW E52 Z8, 2000-2003
BMW E53 1st-gen X5, 2000-2006
BMW E60 5th-gen 5-series, 2004-2010
BMW E61 5th-gen 5-series Touring, 2004-2010
BMW E63 2nd-gen 6-series Coupe, 2003-2011
BMW E64 2nd-gen 6-series Cabriolet, 2003-2011
BMW E65 4th-gen 7-series, 2001-2008
BMW E66 4th-gen 7-series LWB, 2002-2008
BMW E67 4th-gen 7-series armoured, 2001-2008
BMW E68 4th-gen 7-series hydrogen
BMW E70 2nd-gen X5, 2007-2013
BMW E71 1st-gen X6 2008-2014
BMW E81 1st-gen 1-series 3dr, 2004-2011 
BMW E82 1st-gen 1-series 5dr, 2004-2011
BMW E83 1st-gen X3, 2003-
BMW E84 1st-gen X1, 2009-2016
BMW E85 1st-gen Z4, 2003-2009
BMW E87 1st-gen 1-series Coupe, 2004-2011
BMW E88 1st-gen 1-series Convertible, 2004-2011
BMW E89 2nd-gen Z4, 2009-2016
BMW E90 5th-gen 3-series saloon, 2005-2011
BMW E91 5th-gen 3-series Touring, 2005-2011
BMW E92 (below) 5th-gen 3-series coupé, 2005-2011
BMW E93 5th-gen 3-series convertible, 2005-2011